Monday, September 25, 2023

Wee secures re-election by a landslide


Wee secures re-election by a landslide

At the party elections today, Wee secured an overwhelming majority over his challenger Tan Chong Seng.

MCA president Wee Ka Siong speaking to reporters at the counting centre for the party elections this evening.

KUALA LUMPUR: Wee Ka Siong has secured a landslide victory to be re-elected as MCA president today. He secured 569 electoral votes while his challenger, former central committee member Tan Chong Seng, obtained 11.

The deputy president, Mah Hang Soon, was returned unopposed, while Lim Ban Hong, Low Ah Keong, Tan Teik Cheng and Wee Jeck Seng were elected as vice-presidents.

Yesterday, Ling Tian Soon and Wong You Fong were elected as heads of MCA Youth and Wanita MCA respectively.

Voting for the party elections was held simultaneously at all MCA divisions from 2pm to 7pm.

Wee said he was grateful to be given the mandate to lead the party for the second time.

“I will do our best to raise the reputation of the party and bring it back to our former glory. It’s a big challenge but I believe with this new team we are able to achieve it,” Wee told reporters at the Wisma MCA.

Wee became MCA president in November 2018 after securing a landslide victory in a three-cornered fight in the party elections. He served as transport minister from March 2020 to November 2022 under former prime ministers Muhyiddin Yassin and Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

His challenger, Tan, a civil engineer, was the former chairman of the Port Klang Free Zone.

1 comment:

  1. Wee Wee and all his men.
    MCA is more and more just a minor bit player in one corner.